[New] Old Finds

SONY DSC

Today’s post features some of my recent acquisitions, which include a vintage American flag along with some old photographs, a seascape and more. Todd Farm Flea Market has reopened for the season, so I’m back on my game. Last weekend we stopped in as we usually do during the season, and let me tell ya, the place was crawling with hipsters. I’ve never seen so many skinny jeans, workboots, ironic facial hair, knit caps and tote bags featuring screenprinted owls gathered together (but then I don’t get around much).

Even though I have hipster sympathies, since I pretty much have the same taste, from typewriters to pickling (only my credentials for such things reach as far back as the last century), I confess to not being too excited about sharing my flea market with so many new buyers. But really, what am I complaining about? The uptick in interest in old stuff is good for all of us. If more vinyl records, film cameras, and molded plastic chairs populate one-bedroom apartments instead of landfills, we all win.

But I draw the line at auctions. If these young whippersnappers start showing up there, then all bets are off.

One thought on “[New] Old Finds

  1. Darn those hipsters! Your description was hilarious — did they all really have owls on their bags? I have a feeling I’d live to go to your flea market too. I love all your stuff, and also love the thrill of the find amidst the junk.

Leave a Reply

