We Want to Know: What is Your Favorite Vintage Item?

I’m excited to announce that The Roving Home’s next show is scheduled to open on April 21st. The idea behind the show (well, the idea behind everything at The Roving Home, really) is an exploration of the place that old things have in our lives, whether our items are valued in the marketplace or just for sentimental reasons.

I’m also excited to involve you in the process of putting together the show. One of the ways I plan to demonstrate the meaning of our old stuff is by featuring snapshots that readers send in of their favorite vintage item. So I would love it if you could take a few moments to submit a snapshot of something old in your house. Feel free to include yourself in the photo — and if you qualify as vintage, that works too — just make sure to include the vintage item as well as your decrepit self. The item in the snapshot could be something you inherited or a piece you just picked up at the thrift store yesterday. Something as small as a teacup or as large as your house itself. And if you can, please send in a couple of sentences stating why the item is significant to you. It would be fascinating to see which of your older possessions you find meaningful and why.

And here’s the contest part: I’m going to post the snapshots on our facebook page, and your job is get all your friends and family to vote for their favorite. Why you ask? Well, the winner of the Vintage Stuff Contest will receive a vintage school map (market value: $165. sentimental value: priceless). You can view the details about the map HERE.

The contest winner will receive this vintage school map.

Vintage maps are not only terrific conversation pieces, they make great high-impact, affordable works for your walls, whether you are designing for a cottage, a child’s room, or something a bit more sophisticated. A few examples:

Image: Poetic Home

Image: Design Mom

Image: Emily Henderson, Secrets from a Stylist

image: Chateau Interiors & Design

I would love to include some of your stories and images of highly-prized old things you hold dear in our upcoming show. The more casual, the better. Here are a few examples of the type of photo that would be perfect for our upcoming show.

My grandmother's wedding photo which hangs on the wall in our hallway. I just happened to be around when she was sorting photos. She had a couple of these and I think would have thrown the duplicate away if I hadn't snatched it up. I love how tiny and pretty she looks.

The link to the contest on Facebook is HERE, but if you want to participate and aren’t interested in the contest, I would still love to have your photo. Please e-mail it to me at therovinghome@gmail.com, or send me a message if you want to send a hard copy of your photo via the post office and I’ll send you my address (yes, I would truly love to receive something in the mail from you. Such a thing will never lose its appeal). Of course you must be willing to have your snapshot used in the show and sending it in gives The Roving Home permission to display the item along with a few lines of explanation from you about why the item is meaningful. Thanks so much for your help, and I hope to see you joining in on Facebook or in my e-mail inbox!

3 thoughts on “We Want to Know: What is Your Favorite Vintage Item?

  1. I am going to participate, actually can’t wait. My problem is picking which of the silly little things I inherited from my grandmother. Sarah, I wanted to let you know I nominated you for 2 blogging awards in my latest post, and you’ll find out what that’s all about when you get the latest from me.

Leave a Reply

