Christmas in New England

Taking a walk through Rockport’s downtown, I spot a doorway festooned (I’ve never used that word before but it is utterly appropriate in this case) with a garland and topiary of various branches and fruit.  Sights such as this one make me happy to live in New England.  I’m sure fruit-and-evergreen garlands exist elsewhere but somehow it just isn’t the same.  If  Currier & Ives had tried to market images of Christmas in Kentucky, for instance, they might not have found quite the same level of success.  Not that Kentucky isn’t a lovely place in its own right, but you get my drift.

Fruit and Greens and Garlands - oh my!

I don’t get seriously motivated when it comes to holiday decor (here) but somehow I always manage to feel a flutter of excitement  about certain aspects of seasonal decorating.  Of course there is the tree – who doesn’t love decorating a Christmas tree?  (Don’t answer that.  I’m sure a whole lot of people strongly dislike decorating a tree, but I don’t wanna hear about it.  It was a rhetorical question.)  But beyond the tree, I find that – and this is the only time this happens during the year – I want to decorate with shiny stuff.

Maybe it has something to do with the combination of early darkness and all those tiny white lights, but I just want to put gold- and silver-leaf candleholders and decorative fruit and mercury glass and garlands and whatever all over the place.  And, Oh by Gosh by Golly (as the Christmas song says), I’m going to do it!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Some of these items can be found at The Roving Home store.

Leave a Reply

